Faculty & Staff

The Department office is located in Turlington Hall 4008 (voice: +1 352-392-6650; fax: +1 352-392-0860). Most faculty offices are located on the fourth floor of Turlington Hall.

_emptyAdministration _emptyFaculty _emptyStaff

Search Faculty Biographies & Publications


Faculty

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

A

Apollo Amoko
Associate Professor
Postcolonial Theory & Literatures (esp. African Literature), Critical Theory, Modern Drama
<aamoko@ufl.edu>

Donald Ault
Professor
Romantic Poetry (William Blake), Literature & Mathematics, Literary Theory, Comics & Animation
<ault@ufl.edu>

B

Roger Beebe
Associate Professor
Experimental Film & Video Production, Popular American Cinema(s), Critical Theory, Cultural Studies
<rogerbb@ufl.edu>

Marsha Bryant
Professor
20th-Century Literature & Culture (American & British), Poetry, Women’s Literature, Visual Culture
<mbryant@ufl.edu>

Richard Burt
Professor
Shakespeare & Renaissance Drama; Film, Mass Media & Digital Media; Literary & Media Theory
<burt@ufl.edu>

C

Ronald Carpenter
Professor
Rhetorical Theory, Speechwriting, Persuasion
<ronstyle@ufl.edu>

John Cech
Professor
Children’s Literature, 20th-Century American Literature, Adolescent Literature
<jcech@ufl.edu>

Jill Ciment
Professor
Creative Writing (Fiction)
<jciment1@ufl.edu>

D

Sid Dobrin
Graduate Coordinator
Professor
University of Florida Research Foundation Professor
Composition Studies/Theory, Ecocomposition, Visual Rhetoric, Digital Rhetoric, Posthumanism
<sdobrin@ufl.edu>

E

Kim Emery
Associate Professor
U.S. Literatures & Culture, Queer Studies, Semiotics
<kimemery@ufl.edu>

G

Pamela Gilbert
Albert Brick Professor
Victorian Literature & History, The Novel, Women’s Literature, Cultural Studies
<pgilbert@ufl.edu>

Laurie Gries
Assistant Professor
Writing Studies, Material Rhetorics, New Media, Research Methodologies, Cross-Cultural Rhetorics, Rhetorical Theory, Historiography
<legries@ufl.edu>

H

Terry Harpold
Director of Graduate Student Teaching & General Education
Associate Professor
Media Studies, Narrative Theory, Psychoanalysis, Science & Literature, Science Fiction
<tharpold@ufl.edu>

Tace Hedrick
Associate Professor
Chicana/o & Latina/o Cultural Studies; Afro-Latino/a Cultural Studies; Feminist Theory; Transnational American Intellectual History; Feminist Art History; Women’s Studiess
<tace@ufl.edu>

Susan Hegeman
Professor
American Studies, Modernism, Literature & Anthropology
<shegeman@ufl.edu>

Michael Hofmann
Co-Director of Creative Writing
Professor
Creative Writing (Poetry), Translation
<mhofmann@ufl.edu>

Sidney Homan
Professor
Drama (Shakespeare & Modern), Theatre, Acting & Directing
<shakes@ufl.edu>

K

R. Brandon Kershner
Professor
20th-Century British Literature, Popular Culture, Cultural Studies, James Joyce, Creative Writing (Poetry)
<kershner@ufl.edu>

Kenneth Kidd
Department Chair
Professor
19th-Century Literature & Culture, Children’s Literature & Media, Lesbian & Gay Studies
<kbkidd@ufl.edu>

Debra King
Professor
African-American Literature, American Literature, Women’s Studies & Feminist Theory
<dwking@ufl.edu>

L

David Leavitt
Professor
Creative Writing (Fiction)
<dleavitt@ufl.edu>

William Logan
Professor
Creative Writing (Poetry)
<wlogan@ufl.edu>

M

Barbara Mennel
Associate Professor
International Cinema, Feminist and Queer Studies, German Studies
<mennel@ufl.edu>

N

Scott Nygren
Professor
Film & Media Studies, Video Production, Media & Cultural Studies, Film & Literature
<nygren@ufl.edu>

O

Amy Abugo Ongiri
Associate Professor
African American Literature & Culture, Film Studies, Cultural Studies, Gender & Sexuality
<aongiri@ufl.edu>

P

Judith W. Page
Professor
Romanticism, British Women Writers of the 18th & 19th Centuries, Wordsworth, Judaism
<page7@ufl.edu>

Padgett Powell
Co-Director of Creative Writing
Professor
Creative Writing (Fiction)
<powell@ufl.edu>

R

Robert Ray
Professor
Film, Critical Theory, World Literature, Poetry Writing, Popular Music
<robertbeverleyray@gmail.com>

Mark A. Reid
Professor
African & African Diaspora Studies in Film, Media & Literature, Cultural Studies, Womanism & Gender Studies
<reid@ufl.edu>

Mary Robison
Professor
Creative Writing (Fiction)
<profrobison@gmail.com>

Leah Rosenberg
Associate Professor
Anglophone Caribbean Studies, Postcolonial Studies, Cultural Studies
<rosenber@ufl.edu>

Peter L. Rudnytsky
Professor
Freud, Psychoanalytic Studies, Shakespeare, Renaissance Literature
<plr@ufl.edu>

S

Raúl Sánchez
Associate Professor
Composition Studies, Composition Theory, Critical Theory
<rsanchez@ufl.edu>

Jodi Schorb
Assistant Professor
Early American Literatures & Cultures, Gender Studies, Lesbian & Gay Studies, Criminal Narratives
<jschorb@ufl.edu>

Malini Schueller
Professor
19th- & 20th-Century American Literature, Asian-American Studies, Postcolonial & Critical Race Theory, Feminist Theories
<malini@ufl.edu>

R. Allen Shoaf
Professor
Medieval Studies, Early Modern Studies, Milton, Literary Theory, Dante
<ras@ufl.edu>

Stephanie Smith
Associate Chair & Undergraduate Coordinator
Professor
19th-Century American Literature, Feminist Theory, Fiction, Fiction Writing
<ssmith@ufl.edu>

Chris Snodgrass
Professor
Victorian Literature & Art, esp. 1880–1900; Fin-de-Siècle “Decadence”; Cultural Studies; Poetry
<snod@ufl.edu>

T

Maureen Turim
Director of Film & Media Studies
Professor
Film History & Theory, Psychoanalytic Theory, Feminist & Gender Theory, Deconstruction, Comparative Art Theory
<mturim@ufl.edu>

U

Anastasia Ulanowicz
Assistant Professor
Children's Literature & Media, 20th-Century American Literature, Religion & Literature, Trauma Studies
<aulanow@ufl.edu>

Gregory Ulmer
Professor
Comparative Literature & Theory, Pop Culture, Media Studies, Computers & Writing
<glue@ufl.edu>

W

Sidney Wade
Professor
Creative Writing (Poetry), Translation
<swade@ufl.edu>

Phillip Wegner
Marston-Milbauer Eminent Scholar
20th-Century American, British, & World Literatures; Marxism; Film; Science Fiction; Utopias; Cultural Studies; Theory
<pwegner@ufl.edu>

Staff

Carla Blount
Program Assistant to the Director of Writing Programs
& the Director of Creative Writing
<cblount@ufl.edu>

Melissa Davis
Administrative Assistant
<madavis@ufl.edu>

Janet Moore
Office Assistant
<jkmoore1@ufl.edu>

Dr. John Murchek
Coordinator, Student Affairs
<murchek@ufl.edu>

Kathy Williams
Program Assistant to the Graduate Coordinator
& Associate Graduate Coordinator
<kcwill@ufl.edu>

Department of English Computing Support
<help@english.ufl.edu>

Department of English WWW Site Inquiries
<www@english.ufl.edu>

toptop

Primary Navigation

Search

 

Department of English

4008 Turlington Hall
P.O. Box 117310
Gainesville, FL 32611-7310
P: (352) 392-6650
F: (352) 392-0860

 

College of Liberal Arts & Sciences

2104 Turlington Hall
P.O. Box 117300
Gainesville, FL 32611-7310
P: (352) 392-0780
F: (352) 392-3584