Writers Festival 2003

(Click on image to view a full-size version of the poster)

Festival Schedule of Events

March 28

8–9:30 PM.

Deborah Eisenberg and Les Murray will read new and published works. Research Room of the Smathers Library (Library East), University of Florida.

10–11 PM.

Reception. Research Room of the Smathers Library (Library East), University of Florida.

March 29

10 AM – 3 PM.

Informal talks by Festival authors: Deborah Eisenberg, 10 AM; Les Murray, 11 AM; Heather McHugh, 12 PM; Drury, 1 PM. Research Room of the Smathers Library (Library East), University of Florida.

8–9:30 PM.

Tom Drury and Heather McHugh will read new and published works. Research Room of the Smathers Library (Library East), University of Florida.

10– 11PM.

Reception. Research Room of the Smathers Library (Library East), University of Florida.

All events are free and open to the public.

The Festival is presented by MFA at Florida, the Creative Writing Program of the Department of English of the University of Florda. It is supported by generous donations from Dorothy and Terry Smiljanich, Nathan Collier, Goerings Book Store, Northwest Seafood, Steve’s Café Americain, The Gainesville Sun, Jeff Grogin/Snood.com, Talking Walls, and ACCENT. For further information please contact the program director, Padgett Powell, <powell@english.ufl.edu>, or visit the MFA at Florida WWW site, at <http://www.english.ufl.edu/crw/>

About the Festival Writers

Tom Drury was born in Iowa in 1956. He studied at the University of Iowa and at Brown University in Rhode Island, where he received his master’s degree in fiction writing. He has published three novels: The End of Vandalism (1994), The Black Brook (1998), and Hunts in Dreams (2000), and was a recipient of the John Simon Guggenheim Foundation Fellowship for 2000–2001. Before Drury began publishing novels, he spent 10 years working as a journalist for several New England newspapers, including the Providence Journal. His fiction has appeared in Granta (where he was named one of the Best of Young American Novelists), The Mississippi Review, and The New Yorker, and he has written for numerous publications, including The New York Times Magazine. Drury has been a writing instructor at Wesleyan University in Connecticut, and he has taught as a visiting writer at Florida State, LaSalle, and Yale Universities. He is currently serving as the world editor for The St. Petersburg Times.

Deborah Eisenberg received her bachelor’s degree from the New School in 1968. She began her writing career as a playwright, publishing the play “Pastorale,” which premiered at the Second State Theatre in New York City, in 1982. Eisenberg is the author of three short story collections: Transactions in a Foreign Currency (1986), Under the 82nd Airborne (1992), and All Around Atlantis (1997). The works in her first two books were collected in The Stories (So Far) of Deborah Eisenberg in 1997. She has also published a monograph, Air: 24 Hours, Jennifer Bartlett (1995) and has written for The New Yorker, Bomb, and The Yale Review. Eisenberg’s honors include the American Academy of Arts and Sciences Award for Literature, the Deutscher Akademischer Austauschdienst Stipendium, the Friends of American Writers Award, the John Simon Guggenheim Fellowship, the Ingram Merrill Foundation Award, a PEN Hemingway Citation, the REA Award for the Short Story, the Whiting Foundation Award, and three O. Henry Awards. She has been a visiting writer at New York University, the University of Utah, and Washington University in St. Louis, and she is currently teaching in the Writer’s Workshop at the University of Virginia.

Heather McHugh was born in San Diego, California, in 1948. She grew up in Virginia, received her BA from Harvard University in 1970, and earned her MA in English Literature from the University of Denver in 1972. Her collections of poetry include Dangers (1977), A World of Difference (1981), To the Quick (1987), Shades (1988), and Hinge & Sign: Poems 1968–1993 (1994). She has also written a collection of essays, Broken English: Poetry and Partiality (1993), and three works of translation: D’après tout: Poems by Jean Follain (1981), Because the Sea is Black: Poems of Blaga Dimitrova (with Niko Boris, 1989), and Glottal Stop: 101 Poems by Paul Celon (with Nikolai Popov, 2000). McHugh has received numerous awards, including the Boston Book Review’s Bingham Poetry Prize, the Griffin Poetry Prize, the John Simon Guggenheim Foundation Fellowship, two grants from the National Endowment for the Arts, the Pollack – Harvard Review Prize, the Sara Teasdale Prize from Wellesley College, and the Voelcker Poetry Award from PEN. She has served as a Chancellor of The Academy of American Poets and has taught in a number of writing programs, including the University of California at Berkeley, the MFA Program for Writers at Warren Wilson College, and the Writers’ Workshop in Iowa. She has also held chairs at the University of Alabama and the University of Cincinnati. McHugh lives in Seattle, Washington, where she has maintained the position of Milliman Distinguished Writer-in-Residence at the University of Washington since 1984.

Les Murray was born in 1938 in Nabiac, New South Wales, Australia, and was educated at Sydney University. He is considered the leading Australian poet of his generation. Murray’s volumes of poetry include The Ilex Tree (1965), The Weatherboard Cathedral (1969), Poems Against Economics (1972), Selected Poems: The Vernacular Republic (1976), Ethnic Radio (1977), The Boys Who Stole the Funeral (1980), Equanimities (1982), The Vernacular Republic: Poems 1961–1981 (1982), The People’s Otherworld (1983), The Daylight Moon (1987), The Idyll Wheel (1989), Dog Fox Field (1990), Translations from the Natural World (1992), Subhuman Redneck Poems (1996), Fredy Neptune (1998), Conscious & Verbal (2000), and Poems the Size of Photographs (2002). He is also a leading literary critic and the author of a number of prose works. Before becoming a full-time poet and critic, Murray was a translator of Western European languages at the Australian National University in Canberra. He has been a poetry editor for the publisher Angus & Robertson and for Poetry Australia magazine, and has served as the literary editor for the journal Quadrant. Murray’s awards include the Australian Literature Society’s Gold Medal, the Canada-Australia Literary Award, the T.S. Eliot Prize for Poetry, the European Petrarch Award, the FAW Christopher Brennan Award, the Grace Levin Prize for Poetry, the NSW Premier’s Literary Award, the Queen’s Gold Medal for Poetry, the Queensland Premier’s Prize for Fiction, and the UK Poetry Society Choice Australian Creative Fellowship. In addition to these awards, critics now regard Murray as a strong candidate for the Nobel Prize. He continues to write full-time, and lives with his wife, Valerie, and their children in Bunyah, New South Wales, near his childhood home.