The Program in Creative Writing, The Department of English, University of Florida

Visiting Editors Series

Stella Connell
Willard Spiegelman
Pat Strachan

April 11–12, 2003

Participation in the Series is open only to MFA degree candidates, on the invitation of the Director of Creative Writing. For further information please contact the Director, Padgett Powell, <>.

About the Editors

Stella Connell received both BA and MA degrees from the University of Alabama and attended the Radcliffe Publishing Course. She has conducted book campaigns for Pulitzer Prize-winners David Halberstam and Michael Chabon; Caroline Kennedy, Loretta Lynn, Brenda Lee, Marianne Wiliamson, Paul Theroux, Lee Smith, Nuala O’Faolain and Kathleen Norris. She also acts as an agent, discovering and representing emerging literary voices to publishers in the United States and abroad. Works from her agency include A Girl Name Zippy and The Solace of Leaving Early by Haven Kimmel, A False Sense of Well Being by Jeanne Braselton, and Salt by Isabel Zuber.

Willard Spiegelman is the Editor-in-Chief of The Southwest Review. He is the author of three books: Majestic Indolence: English Romantic Poetry and the Work of Art (1995); The Didactic Muse: Scenes of Instruction in Contemporary American Poetry (1989); and Wordsworth’s Heroes (1985). Spiegelman earned his PhD from Harvard University and began teaching as the Hughes Professor of English at Southern Methodist University in Dallas, Texas, in 1971. He has received the Guggenheim and Rockefeller Fellowships for his work. Spiegelman has edited The Southwest Review since 1984.

Pat Strachan is a Senior Editor at Little, Brown, where she joined the editorial staff in September, 2002. Most recently at Houghton Mifflin, she began her career at Farrar, Straus & Giroux, where she worked as an editor for seventeen years. She was then a fiction editor at The New Yorker, returning to book publishing at Harcourt Brace in 1991. In 1984, she received the PEN/Roger Klein Award for Editing. Among the writers she has edited are Elizabeth Benedict, Harold Bloom, Kathryn Davis, Ian Frazier, Fenton Johnson, Jamaica Kincaid, Wendy Lesser, John McPhee, David Nasaw, Rosemary Mahoney, Edna O’Brien, Peter Orner, Marilynne Robinson, Padgett Powell, Jim Shepard, Tom Wolfe, and many poets, including Seamus Heaney, Glyn Maxwell, Gjertrud Schnackenberg, and Derek Walcott. She is now acquiring literary fiction and general nonfiction.